THE INDEPENDENT SMALL-ACREAGE FIELD MANUALGood iron. Better know-how. ↗
TractorFolk
TractorFolk

WHAT’S ON YOUR LIST?

FIND YOUR WAY AROUND

WHAT ARE YOU
WORKING ON?

Buying a tractor ↗Maintenance & repairs ↗Free tools ↗
TRACTORFOLK / THE FIELD MANUAL22 MIN READ

Buying Guides

John Deere Compact Tractors: Lineup, Reliability and Who Should Buy One

Deere's 1, 2, 3 and 4 Series compact tractors compared from Deere's own documents: Yanmar engines, Augusta assembly, the DC-1360 warranty, DPF by model, service intervals by series, quotes, used buying and who should look elsewhere.

Green compact tractor with a front loader beside a mowed pasture
FIELD NOTES / Buying GuidesOriginal illustration for TractorFolk
IN THIS GUIDE JUMP TO A SECTION +

John Deere compact tractors are worth their premium when two things are true. You want the tractor, loader, deck and implements to work as one system, and a good Deere dealer is a short drive away.

They are not worth it if you shop by horsepower per dollar. Skip them too if the nearest green dealer is an hour away and the orange one is ten minutes.

That is the whole verdict. The rest of this guide earns it with Deere’s own documents. That means the lineup as deere.com lists it in October 2026, the Yanmar engines, and the warranty Deere actually prints.

It also covers where the DPF lives and how the service schedules differ by series. The 2026 operator’s manuals for the new 1 Series are in here too.

Deere designs, assembles and tests these tractors in Augusta, Georgia, according to Deere’s factory page. Where Deere publishes nothing, such as US list prices, this article says so instead of guessing.

The short version

  • Four series. The 1 Series sub compacts run about 22 to 24 hp. The 2 Series runs 24 to 37, the 3 Series 24 to 45, and the 4 Series tops out at the 75 hp 4075R.
  • The model year 2027 sub compacts are the 1E 23, 1M 25 and 1R 25. Deere’s October 2026 offers still list the 1023E and 1025R beside them.
  • Every compact runs a Yanmar diesel. The tractors are assembled in Augusta, Georgia.
  • Deere’s printed US warranty (statement DC-1360, October 1, 2017) is 24 months or 2,000 hours. The powertrain gets 72 months or 2,000 hours. Confirm current terms with the dealer.
  • Deere’s documents put a DPF on the 2032R, 2038R, 3032E, 3038E, 3R, 4M and 4R. None is listed for the 1 Series, 2025R, 3025E or 3025D.
  • Skip Deere if price per horsepower is your test or the dealer is far away. Skip it if you want the longest paper warranty.

Are John Deere compact tractors good?

Yes, by the only measure available, which is what owners report over years of use. Owners rate them highly for loader work, deck fit, the quick attach system and dealer coverage. Their loudest complaint is price, followed by how much quotes vary.

No public survey ranks small tractor brands by reliability, and this site has not run one. So treat this section as a pattern from owner reports, not a measurement. Where Deere’s own documents settle a question, this guide says so.

What owners repeatedly praise

Loader fit comes up first. Owners who cross shop a 1025R against a Kubota BX2380 often say the Deere lifts more. They also like the position control 3 point hitch, which returns an implement to the same height every time.

The attachment system is the second theme, and Deere’s pages back the owners up. The Quik-Park loader, the AutoConnect deck and the iMatch Quick-Hitch all come off without tools. Deere’s 2025R page says the deck installs or removes in under five minutes.

Dealers are the third. Deere publishes no dealer count. Owners in brand threads describe Deere dealers as more local than Kubota’s regional stores in many areas.

Several add that a good dealer makes the brand and a weak one spoils it. Resale rounds it out. Owners commonly say a used Deere compact sells fast, though no auction data was checked for this article.

What owners complain about

Price leads. Deere publishes no US list price for its compacts. Owners describe quotes for the same tractor that differ by thousands between dealers of the same brand.

Parts pricing is a recurring grumble, though owners disagree about how far above Kubota it sits. Some say the gap shrinks once you compare a full package with loader and deck. No ranking is possible from owner talk, so this guide makes none.

Dealer service quality is the other pattern. Owners in several threads say the dealer matters more than the badge, and a few describe slow or careless warranty work. That is a reason to interview the dealer, not a verdict on the tractor.

Emissions equipment draws questions on the larger models. Deere’s documents say which tractors carry a DPF. The weak spots section covers it.

John Deere compact tractor models by series

Deere sells four compact series in the US. The table lists every current model with its engine horsepower from Deere’s spec pages. The hp figures are gross SAE J1995 ratings, so PTO horsepower is lower on every one.

One correction to Deere’s own summary page is needed. The Augusta factory page still says the 4 Series runs 44 to 66 hp. Deere’s US 4075R page, live in October 2026, lists 75 hp with a cab only, so the real top is 75.

Series Models Engine hp (gross) Transmission What marks it
1 Series (sub compact) 1E 23, 1M 25, 1R 25; older 1023E and 1025R still listed 22 to 24 on deere.com US; 21.5 to 23.2 in the 2026 manuals Hydrostatic, two range Drive over decks to 60 in., Limited Category 1 hitch, optional factory cab on 1M and 1R
2 Series 2025R, 2032R, 2038R 24, 31, 37 Hydrostatic 2025R shares the 1 Series engine; 2032R and 2038R are a larger frame with 72 in. decks
3 Series, 3E 3025E, 3032E, 3038E 24, 31, 37 Hydrostatic Value priced; DPF on 3032E and 3038E only
3 Series, 3D 3025D, 3035D, 3043D 24, 34, 42 8F/8R synchromesh shuttle gear Gear tractor with a clutch; no DPF text on the 3025D page
3 Series, 3R 3033R, 3039R, 3046R 32, 38, 45 eHydro, three range Cruise, load management, cab option, DPF with parked cleaning
4 Series, 4M 4044M, 4052M, 4066M, plus Heavy Duty versions 43, 51, 65 12/12 PowrReverser or eHydro Four cylinder Yanmars; Heavy Duty adds a Category 1 and 2 hitch
4 Series, 4R 4044R, 4052R, 4066R, 4075R 43, 51, 65, 75 eHydro (PowrReverser on some) Hitch assist, auxiliary hitch control, cab; 4075R is cab only

Series ranges on Deere’s pages are rounded. A 3038E and a 2038R both say 37 hp while a 3039R says 38. Treat one or two horsepower as the same engine family tuned differently.

What E, M and R mean

Deere does not define the letters anywhere readable, so any decoder is a pattern, not a rule. Its February 10, 2026 release says only that the 1 Series got a new naming and numbering system. Deere says it aligns with the broader tractor portfolio.

The pattern across Deere’s feature lists is consistent. E models are the value versions, so the 3E has a plain hydrostatic drive and fewer electronics. M models sit in the middle, and the 4M is sold as the working tractor.

R models carry the features. The 4R page lists hitch assist, auxiliary hitch control and a cab. The 3R adds the three range eHydro with cruise control and load management.

Use the letter as a hint. Read the spec sheet for the real list.

The 1 Series names: 1E 23, 1M 25 and 1R 25

Deere announced the model year 2027 1 Series on February 10, 2026. The three names are the 1E 23, 1M 25 and 1R 25. Trade press and dealers map them to the 1023E, 1025R and 2025R.

Deere’s release, its model pages and its new operator’s manuals never print that mapping. So it stays a dealer and press claim. The specs support it, though.

The 1E 23 uses the 3TNM74F Yanmar of the 1023E. The 1M 25 and 1R 25 use the 3TNV80F of the 1025R and 2025R.

The 1R 25 page also lists larger tires, more ground clearance and 7.4 gpm of hydraulic flow. That was the 2025R’s role.

Horsepower is where Deere contradicts itself, so know it before a salesperson quotes a number. The US 1E 23 page says 22 hp. Deere Canada and the June 2026 operator’s manual say 21.5 hp.

The US pages list the 1M 25 at 24 hp and the 1R 25 at 23 hp. The 2026 manuals list both at 23.2 hp gross. Same engine, different rounding, and the manual is the document you will own.

New for 2027, the 1M 25 and 1R 25 can have a factory installed HVAC cab. They also get tilt steering, a digital fuel gauge and a standard smart connector for Deere’s Equipment Mobile app. All three get a one piece hood that opens 77 degrees.

Deere’s October 2026 offers still name the 1023E and 1025R beside the new models. Expect both on dealer lots this year. To see how the 1 Series stacks up against the BX, read the best sub compact tractors comparison.

Which John Deere series fits which property and job?

Match the series to your heaviest regular job, not to your acreage. Deere’s loader and deck limits sort the lineup cleanly. The acreage bands below are only a rule of thumb.

  • 1 Series, up to about 3 acres, mowing and light loader work: Pick it when a drive over deck and moving mulch are most of your week. The 2026 manual rates the 1E and 1M hitch at 758 lb and the 1R at 914 lb. Both are measured 24 inches behind the arms.
  • 2 Series, 3 to 10 acres, real loader work: The 2025R is a 1 Series engine in a taller chassis. The 2032R and 2038R are a larger, heavier frame with a 72 inch deck. Their 220R loader is rated up to 1,120 lb on Deere’s factory page.
  • 3 Series, 5 to 30 acres of mixed work: Choose the 3E for the lowest cost hydrostatic tractor. Choose the 3D if you want gears and a clutch, and the 3R for the strongest engines and the eHydro. Deere puts the series loader limit at 1,122 lb.
  • 4 Series, 10 to 50 acres, hay and heavy loader work: The 4M is the working tractor and the 4R adds comfort and hitch automation. Deere rates 4 Series loaders up to 2,222 lb. The Heavy Duty 4M adds a Category 2 hitch for bigger implements.

If your work is mostly mowing, the 1 and 2 Series cover it. If you move round bales or run a 6 foot rotary cutter, start at the 3R or 4 Series. The tractor sizing guide walks through sizing by your heaviest implement.

Why Deere’s loader lift numbers do not match each other

Deere quotes loader lift at two different points, and that explains most of the contradictions you will see. The US 120R loader page lists 803 lb at full height measured at the pivot pins.

The same page lists 553 lb measured 500 mm ahead of the pivot. That point is closer to where a real load sits.

The mechanical self leveling version lists up to 726 lb. Deere’s factory page says the 1 Series lifts up to 754 lb, and Deere Canada’s hub says 803 lb. Neither page states its measuring point.

When you compare brands, use the 500 mm figure on both. Otherwise you compare a Deere pivot number against a rival’s bucket number. The front end loader guide explains why a loader rating is never what the bucket lifts.

Who makes John Deere compact tractor engines?

Yanmar makes every engine in the compact line, and Deere says so on each model page. The 1 through 3 Series use three cylinder Yanmar TNV and TNM diesels. The 4 Series uses four cylinder Yanmars, and all current models meet EPA Final Tier 4.

Deere’s spec pages and manuals show how few engine families cover the lineup:

  • 1E 23: Yanmar 3TNM74F, 0.993 L, 61 cu. in.
  • 1M 25, 1R 25 and 2025R: Yanmar 3TNV80F, 1.267 L, 77 cu. in.
  • 2032R, 3032E, 3033R and 3035D: Yanmar 3TNV88C, naturally aspirated, about 1.64 L.
  • 3025E and 3025D: Yanmar 3TNV88F, the same block tuned to 24 hp.
  • 2038R, 3038E, 3039R and 3043D: Yanmar 3TNV86T or 3TNV86CT, turbocharged.
  • 3046R: Yanmar 3TNV86CHT, turbocharged and intercooled.
  • 4044M and 4044R: Yanmar 4TNV88C, 2.19 L, naturally aspirated, 43 hp.
  • 4052M, 4066M, 4066R and 4075R: Yanmar 4TNV86CHT, 2.09 L, turbocharged. It is tuned from 51 to 75 hp.

The Yanmar connection is not a Deere secret and it is not exclusive. The LS MT125 and TYM T25 list the same 3TNV80F in their 24 hp sub compacts. That is why engine reputation rarely separates these brands.

The transmission, loader, frame and dealer decide the purchase instead. One practical consequence of the shared engine: its emission control warranty comes from Yanmar, not Deere. The 2026 1 Series manual prints Yanmar’s limited emission control system warranty as a separate document, so keep both.

Where John Deere compact tractors are built

Deere’s factory page says it designs, assembles and tests its compact utility tractors in Augusta, Georgia. That covers the 1 through 4 Series it lists. The page does not say where engines or transmissions are made.

John Deere compact tractor warranty: what Deere prints

Deere’s printed US warranty for compact utility tractors is 24 months or 2,000 hours on the whole tractor. The powertrain gets 72 months or 2,000 hours, whichever comes first. That comes from Deere’s Limited Warranty for New John Deere Turf and Utility Equipment, document DC-1360, effective October 1, 2017.

Deere’s model pages do not link to that document. Dealers in 2026 describe the same terms. Confirm the current statement with your dealer before you sign, because a 2017 document can be superseded.

The statement defines the powertrain narrowly, which matters at year three. It covers the engine block, head, oil pan, timing covers, flywheel housing and emissions control components.

It also covers the transmission, differential and axle housings, clutch housings and the MFWD front axle. The parts inside those housings are included.

It excludes external drivelines, dry clutch parts and steering cylinders. Tires and batteries are warranted separately. Normal wear and maintenance are excluded.

Three more lines are worth knowing. Implements bought on the same purchase order carry the tractor’s term, while implements bought separately get 12 months. The warranty transfers to a second owner if a dealer is notified and Deere approves.

The statement also says the selling dealer makes no warranty of its own. A verbal promise from a salesperson is not coverage.

Ask in writing for the warranty start date and what counts as commercial use. Ask whether the DPF is a covered emissions component.

How it compares with Kubota and others

Brand Basic Powertrain Source
John Deere compact utility 24 months or 2,000 hours 72 months or 2,000 hours Deere statement DC-1360, October 2017; dealers describe the same in 2026
Kubota (BX, B, LX, L) 24 months or 1,500 hours 72 months or 2,000 hours Kubota limited warranty, purchases after January 1, 2026
Kioti 24 months 48 months engine and driveline; a 6 year promotion may still apply Kioti warranty page
Mahindra Varies by model 7 years on most small series, 3,000 hour cap Mahindra warranty page
Yanmar Not stated in the sources read 10 years or 3,000 hours Yanmar warranty page
TYM Not stated in the sources read 72 months or 3,000 hours TYM warranty page

Deere’s headline terms match Kubota’s almost exactly, with 500 more basic hours on the Deere. Mahindra, Yanmar and TYM print longer powertrain terms. Longer is only better if the repair happens, so weigh the dealer’s distance against the extra years.

The Kubota tractors hub covers Kubota’s terms, its own engines and its regional dealer model in more detail.

Known weak spots by series

The weak spots below are either things Deere’s own documents tell you to plan for, or recurring owner reports. Many owners report none of them. Use them as dealer questions, not reasons to avoid the brand.

DPF and regeneration: which models have one

Deere’s filter sheets and model pages settle which compacts carry a diesel particulate filter. The 3E filter sheet (March 2021) lists a DPF part number for the 3032E and 3038E. It lists none for the 3025E.

The 4M sheet lists one for the 4044M, 4052M and 4066M.

Deere’s pages describe a DPF and diesel oxidation catalyst on the 2032R, 2038R, 3R and 4R. No DPF appears on the 1 Series, 2025R, 3025E or 3025D documents. Deere does not state that these tractors have none, so confirm it on the serial number you are quoted.

The pattern is simple. Deere’s 24 hp models skip the filter. The 31 hp and up models carry it.

The 3R page explains the process. The filter cleans itself when the engine runs warm and loaded. If it cannot, the tractor starts an active cleaning by adding fuel.

If that fails, you run a parked cleaning that Deere says takes about 30 minutes. The 3R display shows soot level and hours since the last regeneration. Deere also says the filter may need an ash removal service “after many hours.”

Ask the dealer what that ash service costs before you buy a 3R or 4 Series. Deere gives no hour figure, but it is real money later in the tractor’s life. Owners of other brands report regeneration faults often enough to make this a standard question.

Two searches found no thread of Deere 3E, 4M or 4R owners describing repeated regen trouble. That is not proof of none. It is only the absence of a pattern.

1 Series and 2025R

  • Wiring and PTO cutoff faults: some 1025R owners describe a wiring or PTO cutoff problem fixed under warranty. It shows up as the engine dying when the PTO engages.
  • Fuel shutoff solenoid: a few 2025R owners mention it failing. The tractor cranks but will not start. The diesel tractor won’t start guide covers how to tell a solenoid from a fuel problem.
  • Ground clearance and deck height: 1023E and 1025R owners in more than one thread describe scraping with a 60 inch deck on rough ground. Deere’s 1R 25 page sells larger tires and more clearance, which is Deere’s answer to the same complaint.
  • Driveshaft grease points: the manual puts fittings on both driveshafts behind the skid plates, every 50 hours. They are easy to miss, and a dry U joint is the first thing to wear. Treat those fittings as the most neglected service on these tractors.

Dealer variance

The most consistent Deere complaint is not a part. It is the gap between a dealer that sets the deck and returns calls, and one that does not. Before you buy, ask how long a warranty repair usually waits.

John Deere compact tractor maintenance in brief

Every Deere compact wants Hy-Gard in its shared transmission and hydraulic sump. Deere’s manuals say not to mix fluids.

The 1 Series manual calls for Low Viscosity Hy-Gard, Deere specification J20D. It accepts other oils only if they meet J20D or J20C.

It bans type F automatic transmission fluid and engine oil in the transmission. Engine oil is more flexible than on some rivals. The 1 Series manual prefers Plus-50 II or Torq-Gard Supreme.

It accepts any API CD, CF, CF-4, CI-4, CJ-4 or CK-4 diesel oil. So a current heavy duty diesel oil from any brand meets the list. Viscosity comes from the manual’s temperature chart.

Coolant is Cool-Gard II or Cool-Gard II PG. Other glycol coolants qualify if they meet ASTM D6210 or D3306 with a nitrite free additive package.

With Cool-Gard II and a yearly test strip, the drain interval is 6 years or 6,000 hours. With anything else it drops to 2 years or 2,000 hours.

Service intervals by series, from Deere’s documents

The series do not share one schedule. The table shows the differences from Deere’s filter overviews and operator’s manuals. The 1 Series is the odd one, with a 200 hour transmission change.

Series Engine oil and filter Transmission oil and filter Fuel filters Transmission capacity Source
1 Series (1023E, 1025R, 1E 23, 1M 25, 1R 25) 400 hours or yearly (manual); 200 hours (filter sheet) Every 200 hours with suction screen cleaning 400 hours or yearly 12.3 L on the 1023E and 1025R; 14 L on the 1E 23 and 1M 25; 15.1 L on the 1R 25 Operator’s manuals OMTR135770 and OMTR146284, OMTR146366 (June 2026)
2036R (older 2R) 200 hours or yearly First 400 hours, then every 1,200 hours or 3 years 400 hours or yearly 23.5 L Filter overview, March 2021
3E (3025E, 3032E, 3038E) 400 hours or yearly Filter every 400 hours or yearly 400 hours or yearly 20.8 L Filter overview, March 2021
3R (3033R, 3039R, 3046R) 200 hours or yearly First 400 hours, then every 1,200 hours or 3 years 400 hours or yearly 25.7 L Filter overview, May 2021
4M (4044M, 4052M, 4066M) 200 hours or yearly First 400 hours, then every 1,200 hours or 3 years 400 hours or yearly 47.3 L Filter overview, March 2021

Two things stand out. The 3R and 4M go 1,200 hours between transmission changes after the first one. A 1 Series owner changes about 13 quarts of Hy-Gard every 200 hours.

The 3E filter sheet lists both engine oil and transmission filter at 400 hours, the lightest schedule in the lineup. Filter sheets are dated 2021 and say “subject to change,” so the manual that shipped with your tractor governs. Where a sheet and a manual disagree, the shorter interval is the safe habit for dusty mowing.

The 1025R service rhythm, and what the 2026 manuals change

Here is the 1023E and 1025R rhythm from Deere’s operator’s manual and filter sheet. Check fluids, screens and the water separator every 10 hours.

Grease the driveshafts and hitch every 50 hours. Change the hydraulic filter after the first 50 hours per the filter sheet.

Change transmission oil and filter every 200 hours. Engine oil and the fuel filter are 400 hours or yearly. The air filter element and front axle oil are 600 hours.

Valve clearance is a dealer job at 1,000 hours.

Deere published the new 1 Series manuals on June 3, 2026. They are OMTR146284 for the 1E 23 and 1M 25, and OMTR146366 for the 1R 25. Both are readable on Deere’s technical publications site.

Their interval charts match the 1025R chart line for line.

The capacities moved. The transmission and hydraulic sump is now 14 L (3.7 gal) on the 1E and 1M. It is 15.1 L (3.9 gal) on the 1R, against 12.3 L on the 1025R.

The crankcase stays 2.7 L (2.9 qt) and the front axle 2.8 L (3.0 qt).

The new charts list no first 50 hour hydraulic filter change. Deere’s 2021 filter sheet for the 1025R does. Owners who pull the suction screen early commonly find fine metal paste on the magnets, so do it anyway.

For capacities, part numbers and the step by step procedures, use the John Deere 1 Series maintenance guide.

John Deere compact tractor prices and how to get a real quote

Deere publishes no US list price for its compact tractors, so the price is whatever your dealer quotes. The only dollar figures on deere.com are offers. In October 2026 they run through November 1, 2026.

Those offers show how Deere steers buyers. On October 15, 2026 the US pages listed 0% APR for 36 months on the 1E 23, 1M 25 and 1R 25. The 1023E, 2032R, 2038R and 3D carried 0% for 60 months.

Cash offers ran beside them, such as $1,000 off a 1023E, 1E 23 or 1R 25 and $5,000 off a 4066M. Rate offers and cash offers are separate choices.

Offers change every few months and rarely stack. The number that matters is the out the door price for your package.

To get one:

  1. Decide the tractor, loader, deck and rear implement before you talk to anyone. Then every dealer prices the same list.
  2. Ask two Deere dealers for an out the door figure on that package, including freight, setup and tax.
  3. Ask whether the quote uses the rate offer or the cash offer. Then ask for the price with the other one.
  4. Ask what is included: loader, iMatch hitch, deck, ballast, a cab and the smart connector subscription.
  5. Price a Kubota or Kioti package of the same size with the same implements, not a bare tractor.

Owners say the same tractor can differ by thousands between dealers. A package deal often beats building the tractor piece by piece later. No price is quoted here because Deere publishes none.

For ownership costs beyond the purchase, see the tractor cost guide.

Buying a John Deere compact tractor used

A used Deere compact is a good buy when the service records are complete and the hours match the wear. Records matter more than the model year. A 900 hour tractor with receipts beats a 300 hour one that never saw a transmission change.

Series and years to look at

The 1023E, 1025R and 2025R likely have the most used stock. None of them carries a DPF in Deere’s documents.

The 1 Series name change means a dealer may discount a new 1025R to clear it. That pulls used prices down too.

That makes late 2026 a buyer’s moment for a used sub compact. The 3032E, 3038E, 3R, 4M and 4R carry a DPF. Ask for regeneration history, any parked cleaning records and any ash service invoice.

The 3D is the gear tractor for buyers who want fewer electronics and accept a clutch. Deere’s spec pages list an 8 forward and 8 reverse synchromesh shuttle. The 3025D also skips the DPF, which some buyers specifically want.

What to inspect

  1. Start it cold and watch for smoke, slow cranking and any warning lights that stay on.
  2. Pull the transmission dipstick after the tractor has sat an hour. Look for milky oil or metal.
  3. Check the driveshaft fittings for fresh grease. Dry fittings mean the 50 hour service was skipped.
  4. Run the loader through its range with a load in the bucket. Watch for drift with the engine off and for pin slop.
  5. Engage the PTO under load and lift a heavy implement on the 3 point hitch.
  6. On a DPF model, read the regeneration history and ask when the last parked cleaning ran.
  7. Have a Deere dealer run the serial number for open campaigns and the warranty start date. The 72 month powertrain term transfers with Deere’s approval.

Prefer a tractor with its loader already fitted. Adding a Deere loader later costs more and depends on the tractor’s generation. Deere’s 120R page, for example, lists only the 1023E, 1025R and 2025R.

Who should skip John Deere and buy something else?

Skip Deere if you buy on price per horsepower. Skip it if your nearest dealer is a long drive, or if you want the longest printed warranty. These are real reasons, and none of them is brand loyalty.

  • You want the most horsepower per dollar. Kioti, LS, TYM and Mahindra often price lower for the same size. Compare equipment lists line by line, because loaders, hitches and tires differ.
  • Your Deere dealer is far away. A closer Kubota, Kioti or Mahindra dealer will serve you better for ten years. A better tractor an hour away is a worse tractor on a Saturday.
  • You want a longer powertrain term on paper. Yanmar prints 10 years or 3,000 hours, TYM 72 months or 3,000 hours, and Mahindra 7 years on its small series. Deere’s 72 months or 2,000 hours is solid, not the longest.
  • You want to avoid a DPF above 25 hp. Deere’s documents show no DPF only on its 24 hp models, and the 3035D and 3043D pages do not say either way. Check each rival’s spec sheet for larger engines without one.

The compact tractor brand ranking compares all ten brands on dealers, warranty, engines and resale.

Bottom line

John Deere compact tractors are good machines. They have a strong loader and attachment system, a dealer network owners praise, and a printed warranty that matches Kubota’s. The price premium is real, and so is the gap between dealers.

Pick the series by your heaviest job, get two written quotes, and check the dealer before the badge.

Frequently asked questions

Are John Deere compact tractors reliable?

Owners generally describe them as dependable, and the Yanmar engines draw little criticism. No public survey ranks brands, so that is an owner view. The dealer you buy from shapes your experience as much as the tractor does.

What is the smallest John Deere compact tractor?

The 1E 23 is the entry model for 2027. Its Yanmar 3TNM74F is rated 22 hp on Deere’s US page and 21.5 hp in the 2026 operator’s manual. The older 1023E is still sold new beside it.

Are the 1E 23, 1M 25 and 1R 25 the same as the 1023E, 1025R and 2025R?

Trade press and dealers map them that way, and the engines match by model number. Deere’s release, pages and manuals do not print the mapping. The 2026 manuals list larger transmission capacities than the 1025R, so the new tractors are not identical under the skin.

Does John Deere make its own compact tractor engines?

No, every compact model page names a Yanmar diesel. The 1 through 3 Series use three cylinders and the 4 Series four. Deere designs, assembles and tests the tractors in Augusta, Georgia.

Is John Deere better than Kubota?

Neither wins every comparison. Owners say Deere offers more loader lift and a stronger quick attach system. Kubota builds its own engines and often prices lower, and since the printed warranties are nearly identical, dealer quality and price decide most cases.

Do John Deere compact tractors have a DPF?

The 31 hp and up models do. Deere’s documents place a DPF on the 2032R, 2038R, 3032E, 3038E, 3R, 4M and 4R. The 24 hp models, meaning the 1 Series, 2025R, 3025E and 3025D, show none in Deere’s filter sheets or pages.

What is the John Deere compact tractor warranty?

Deere’s printed US statement, DC-1360 dated October 1, 2017, gives 24 months or 2,000 hours on the tractor. The powertrain gets 72 months or 2,000 hours. Dealers describe the same terms in 2026, but ask for the current statement in writing.

END OF FIELD NOTE

Independent of the brands. On the owner’s side.

Our editorial approach ↗
John Deere ↗